World of Warcraft - Cata-4.0 patch

Having trouble playing a game, post here

World of Warcraft - Cata-4.0 patch

PostPosted by Chuw » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:58 pm

Hi,
recently i was running into problems as Blizzard no longer supports win2k at all.

The error message ... >>"SetFileValidData" in "KERNEL32.dll" not found<< error, i was able to fix with your API -wrap, but now I am running into another error.

Entry "RegisterRawInputDevices" in "USER32.dll" not found

Read in the "Readme.txt" of OldCigarette's something about this, that it should take care of the problem, but for me it doesnt.
I dont think that I made a mistake while using OC, but as I am not really an expert in this stuff, besides some html-programing ...
... maybe I did a mistake nevertheless :-)

Cheers

P.S. Sorry for incomplete error-messages, but as I am running a german client,
the way I extracted the IMO needed information, might be the better way
Chuw

Re: World of Warcraft - Cata-4.0 patch

PostPosted by OldBoy2k » Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:17 pm

Hi Chuw,

welcome to the Win2kgaming forum.In order to investigate more issues with this patch i need to look at the Dependency Walker dwi log.You can find the guide how to profile the game in my signature (-> error detection and profiling with Dependency Walker (DWI Logs)).I'd like to take a look at it first.Please follow part1 and part2 of this guide and post the download link to the World of Warcraft main game executable DWI-log.

Note: just let it Dependency Walker profile until the User32.dll error message appears.Then terminate/stop profiling and save the log (*.dwi).

Then fix the "RegisterRawInputDevices" error by adding the renamed Windows 2000 User32.dll (-> User32_ORG.dll) and also add the OCW User32.dll to the binaries directory.And please repeat the profiling procedure and also upload this second DWI log.

BR
OldBoy2k
OldBoy2k

PostPosted by Chuw » Fri Oct 15, 2010 5:03 am

Hey ... cheers for the fast answer